Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How to check gravity while fermenting?  (Read 6773 times)

Offline glassyocean

• 1st Kit
How to check gravity while fermenting?
« on: November 01, 2016, 03:09:03 pm »
I am a newbie to homebrewing. I started fermenting my 1st wort (5 gallon) last Saturday. It's been emitting bubbles through airlock until yesterday, and today it stopped. Read from this https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=5760.0 that it's no problem as long as you get to the desired FG. However, how do I check the gravities while fermenting? Opening the lid + airlock and taking a sample to measure gravity would contaminate the beer. Using spigot would also contaminate, b/c the spigot is not completely sanitized. Any thoughts? Anyways in general, is it OK to open the lid for a few seconds to check the bubbles and close it? Thx in advance!
« Last Edit: November 01, 2016, 03:19:51 pm by glassyocean »

Offline JJeffers09

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: How to check gravity while fermenting?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2016, 03:27:40 pm »
Wait at minimum 5 days to check it.  Generally speaking with saccharomyces and average starting gravity primary fermentation (alcohol pruduction) is finished in the first 3-5 days.  So until you get a feel for the hobby, going off "rule of thumb" is my advice.  You can check it and be very careful about your sanitation.  Never touch anything your beer touches without sanitizing it.  If you have pets, put them up, they are curious and even though we love them, they are filthy.  You are looking for 1 bubble per 1.5-2 mins in the airlock.  Attenuation doesn't mean finished, 3 days with little activity (unless you have a strain that is prone to stalling or a high gravity big beer) is a good sign to start checking with a sample.