Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Belgian ipa(used saison yeast)  (Read 3690 times)

Offline spin62

• 1st Kit
Belgian ipa(used saison yeast)
« on: November 07, 2016, 03:04:23 am »
hi, i'm home brewing foreign beginner(started home brewing 1year ago, and not american)
my major is food science(process technologic, QC/QA, etc)

can i ask your think about this recipe?

batch volume : 5gallon

mash temp & time : 68C, 30mins

ingredients
pale 2kg
pilsner 1.8kg
wheat 1kg
flaked oats 0.5kg
cara pils 0.3kg

hops's schedule
boiling 60min - warrior 1oz
whirpooling 20min - citra 2oz, mosaic 2oz
dry hopping - citra 2oz, mosaic 2oz

total boiling time : 90min

SO4:Cl = 100: 130
BU/GU= 0.95

yeast : saison yeast

everyone, how think about this recipe?
« Last Edit: November 07, 2016, 04:14:42 pm by spin62 »

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Belgian ipa(used saison yeast)
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2016, 06:05:28 am »
Just my $0.02 :

1/  You don't need to boil it for 90 mins

2/  If the SO4:Chloride is in ppm, you need to back off to maybe half those amounts. Martin has posted that you run the risk of a minerally beer when you have sulfate and chloride both over 100 ppm.

3/  I don't think the saison strain will work best here. Saison yeasts attenuate to very low FG (like 1.004 and under) and the lack of body caused by such a low FG might not support an IPA hop load. IMO WY 3522 is an excellent strain to use here.
Jon H.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2016, 06:33:00 am »
3/  I don't think the saison strain will work best here. Saison yeasts attenuate to very low FG (like 1.004 and under) and the lack of body caused by such a low FG might not support an IPA hop load. IMO WY 3522 is an excellent strain to use here.