Author Topic: Finally decided to post  (Read 1204 times)

Offline 802Chris

• Assistant Brewer
Finally decided to post
« on: November 11, 2016, 12:52:43 PM »
Well, I'm finally saying hi after years of trolling this site. I would like to thank all of you who regularly contribute here, as you have helped me grow in my brewing and my passion for brewing exponentially over the last few years.

A little about me. I'm a 29 year old dad from Vermont and a proud member of the 158th Fighter Wing, Vermonts own "Green Mountain Boys". A network administrator by trade, i brew solely to feed my inner geek (well i also get great beer out of it...) I started brewing about 7 years ago now, i started with extract batches and actually stuck with them for longer than many. I lived in a small apartment and was always afraid of the amount of space and time all grain brewing would take up.
Fast forward to now... thanks to DENNY and the many  many other helpful folks on this forum that I have stalked through countless threads, I have adopted the batch sparge lifestyle! I also dabble in cider every fall with great results so far.
Oh and one more thing, as youll see below, I am cheap as hell. Skinflint is my middle name, and I am proud of it! I have haggled, cobbled and found just about everything in my brewery for free or rock bottom pricing. What can I say, I'm an enlisted guy with mouths to feed and hey, who doesn't like saving money!
My setup: 
8.5 gallon morebeer dual port kettle w/ball valve and thermometer. By far my most expensive item, but I love it!
Bayue classic banjo burner
Homemade fermentation chamber w/$6 home hacked temp controller and lightbulb heater(my proudest achievement...tear)
12 cu ft kenmore fridge i use to hold 1 of 3 ball lock kegs... and you KNOW I'm rockig cobra taps!
My most recent and newest addition... a $17 voctoria style grain mill!