Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP 820 rate of Fermentation?  (Read 11605 times)

Offline lazydog79

• Assistant Brewer
WLP 820 rate of Fermentation?
« on: July 12, 2010, 10:01:47 am »
O.k., I am sweating my aforementioned Oktoberfest again.  I pulled a gravity sample today to see if I am getting near needing to start my diacetyl rest.  It has been in primary for 11 days.  The bubbling has slowed to about 8 blips a minute, so I was figuring it was probably somewhere in the mid-20s after starting at 1.055.  My hydrometer read 1.041!   ???  I even took the reading twice. 16 points in 11 days?  What gives?! 

I had previously checked gravity 5 days prior and got a 1.046.  Again, I am a newbie with lager yeasts.  Is this typical performance for this yeast?  At this rate, it's going to take forever to ferment out.  Any insights would be helpful.  Thanks!

Offline pyrite

• Brewer
  • Davis, CA
Re: WLP 820 rate of Fermentation?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 10:21:08 am »
In my experience, if you’re using a first generation yeast culture that yeast is notorious for what you are describing.  Only after the second generation or a healthy and large yeast starter will that yeast show improvement in its fermentation of wort.   I have to mention, depending on your mashing temps and other factors like fermentation temps, that yeast strain is delicate and could stop around 1.018-1020 (in the past it has for me).    
If you don't get in over your head, how are you ever going to know how tall you are.

Offline lazydog79

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 10:32:09 am »
Should I rouse the yeast or anything to get it going or just let it ride?

Offline pyrite

• Brewer
  • Davis, CA
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2010, 11:51:58 am »