Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Banking Yeast  (Read 3766 times)

Offline crakers540

• Cellarman
Banking Yeast
« on: November 16, 2016, 06:00:57 pm »
Has anyone had experience with propagating and banking yeast cultures for future use?  I would like to have an alternative to always buying a pack of yeast for each brew day.  I generally use the same yeast strains for my beers.
I have read a few articles on doing this.  I have extensive experience in banking bacteria, but do not know if yeast behave differently when grown in culture, aliquoted into several sterile conical tubes, and then stored in a home freezer for several months (frost free). 
I came across this article on HomeBrew Talk.  http://www.homebrewtalk.com/freezing-yeast.html
I was used to using 50% glycerin final concentration, but this article states that 10% works better.

Any suggestions?  Any experience with doing this?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Banking Yeast
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2016, 06:20:05 pm »
I don't do it because it is another hobby on its own and not worth the effort for me. I save slurry and I am very happy with my results. If you are using one strain, slurry will do you fine.

Offline crakers540

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2016, 07:07:29 pm »
ok, how long can I keep slurry before I need to use it?  Do I need to pitch it straight away into another wort?  I have placed slurry into a sanitized jar, kept it for a few weeks in a refrigerator, pitched it, and had no apparent fermentation after 24 hours.

How do you save your slurry?

Offline Stevie

Banking Yeast
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2016, 07:13:58 pm »