Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: FedEx or UPS??  (Read 3472 times)

Offline zkosslow

• 1st Kit
FedEx or UPS??
« on: November 17, 2016, 12:42:18 pm »
Hey all!

I was curious as to whether you all preferred FedEx or UPS when shipping entries??  I've been homebrewing for ~6 years now and have been into competition brewing for the past 2 years successfully.

I pack the s*** out of my entries and think that I do a pretty decent job at padding them...however, I've always gone through FedEx and they have just now recently been breaking bottles and causing me headaches when shipping entries to competitions.

I wanted to know what your experiences were with either shipping company?  Maybe any particular tips that really helped decrease your breakage percentage other than "padding each bottle well"...maybe like a particular marking on the box, etc.  (I typically just put "This side up" with large arrows pointing to the top on each side).

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: FedEx or UPS??
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 12:44:27 pm »
I've had the best luck with UPS. "Gifts" is my go to.
Jon H.

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2016, 12:47:03 pm »
Hey all!
 (I typically just put "This side up" with large arrows pointing to the top on each side).

Ha!  That only gives them reason to put the box upside down.

Anyone remember Jim K's post from last swap with that picture on there of his delivery?

Offline zkosslow

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2016, 12:55:14 pm »
Hey all!
 (I typically just put "This side up" with large arrows pointing to the top on each side).

Anyone remember Jim K's post from last swap with that picture on there of his delivery?

Oh yeah?? Just to mess with people?!

Offline theDarkSide

• Derry, NH
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2016, 01:10:58 pm »