Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP029 Kolsch yeast Strain  (Read 4084 times)

Offline bayareabrewer

• Brewmaster
Re: WLP029 Kolsch yeast Strain
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2016, 03:16:50 pm »
I think diacetyl is a misunderstood boogeyman for many beer tasters, judges or not. I wonder if they keyed in on the beer tasting "different" due to the use of Munich in the grist...couldn't identify what it was so it "had to be diacetyl."

In my experience, there's nothing iffy about diacetyl. Buttery, and slippery. And honestly, not always a bad thing, some beers benefit from it. (Samuel Smith's Nut Brown Ale is a great example.)

I overheard a judge reading over a style he was judging and say "well, this should be interesting, I've never tried this kind of beer before"

That made me lose faith in most competitions.

Offline Ellismr

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2016, 03:31:16 pm »
LMAO

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brew what you like & brew often.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2016, 03:42:16 pm »
But a competent judge should be able to judge to the style without knowing it. The text should tell him or her what they are judging. Does this fit, yes or no.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2016, 04:07:59 pm »