Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brown Ale, critique  (Read 2724 times)

Offline neddles

• Brewer
Brown Ale, critique
« on: December 15, 2016, 07:51:35 am »
Going to make a brown ale. Haven't made one in a good long while. Looking for a mid-gravity more malt focused version with a little balance from the Willamette. Big unknown to me is the Special Roast. Too much, too little? Thoughts on the rest of the recipe?

6 gallons
SRM19
IBU 28
30 minute boil

86% Crisp Maris Otter
7% Bairds Crystal 55L (12oz)
3.5% Special Roast (6oz)
3.5% Crisp Chocolate 375L (6oz)
*Mash 150F/40min and 160F/10 minutes

14g Apollo @30
15g Willamette @15
15g Willamette @5

WY1450

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Brown Ale, critique
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 09:48:09 am »
It looks great to me but I have very little experience with special roast as well. I can say that I don't think that amount would be too much...
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2016, 10:29:12 am »
I think your recipe looks good to me. I have used special roast a few times in a Red Ale, Brown Ale and Amber Ale. Definitely fit better in the Red Ale and Brown Ale. I wouldn't change anything on your recipe. Cheers!
A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
Kegged/Bottled: N/A
Coming up:
SMaSH Rye Pale Ale
Chocolate Rye Stout
Milk Stout

Offline neddles

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2016, 01:02:55 pm »
Ok, looks like I will roll with it as is. Thanks for the input. Going get this brewed late tonight and I'm excited because I haven't brewed in like 8 weeks or more.

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2016, 01:08:09 pm »