Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Honing Your Skills  (Read 5529 times)

Offline curtdogg

• Brewer
  • Learning everyday
Re: Honing Your Skills
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2017, 05:08:43 pm »
It's amazing...the original post was a simple question about honing one's skills at the basic level. Keep it simple, SMASH brews to get your process down, and other things to help get along the way of all grain. Poor guy is wanting to learn how to walk, and you guys are throwing decoction mashing, fly sparging, and water chemistry, all things you do when you are ready to run. He's still at the point of figuring out water volumes.

I wonder how many people start out homebrewing, and then give it up because it is too much information too fast.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

THIS^^^^homebrewers can be so enthusiastic that they overwhelm new brewers in an attempt to help.
I agree I'm still relatively new to home brewing and in the beginning i struggled with all the info and which techniques to use. I would of loved to have a brewing basics book in the beginning.
Sweet home of the Beer Lords.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2017, 05:20:11 pm »
I wonder how many people start out homebrewing, and then give it up because it is too much information too soon.

THIS^^^^homebrewers can be so enthusiastic that they overwhelm new brewers in an attempt to help.

Definitely. I've been guilty of this myself. I want to get better about helping new brewers in a more approachable way.
Jon H.

Offline chinaski

• Brewmaster
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2017, 06:29:17 pm »