Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Holiday Ale Tweaks  (Read 3326 times)

Offline RobertE

• 1st Kit
Holiday Ale Tweaks
« on: December 22, 2016, 04:10:59 pm »
Hi,
I'm new to brewing. I just finished a 5 gallon batch of holiday ale that called for honey, molasses and golden syrup in the recipe. The beer turned out a bit high on the alcohol side and lacked body or sweetness. Do you think I should try cutting out the honey and syrup next time? I'm thinking of increasing the light DME to 6 lbs. and the crystal malt to 1 lb. I used a yeast starter as well so I'm also thinking that supercharged the beer's alcohol content with all the sugars. Next time I will try to achieve the recommended OG of 1.058. I was a little high at 1.067.
4.0 lbs. (1.8 kg) Muntons Light dried malt extract
1.0 lb. (0.45 kg) Crisp Maris Otter malt
0.75 lb. (0.34 kg) Scotmalt crystal malt (40 °L)
0.25 lb. (0.11 kg) Crisp chocolate malt
1.5 lbs. (0.68 kg) clover honey
½ can Lyle’s Golden Syrup
¼ cup Blackstrap molasses
6.1 AAU Goldings hops (60 mins) (1 oz./28 g of 6.1% alpha acids)
1.0 oz. (28 g) Fuggles hops (5 mins)
White Labs WLP002 (English Ale) yeast 
Spices: 4 cinnamon sticks, 1 nutmeg seed, 1 vanilla bean, 7 allspice berries, 1.5 tsp. whole cloves, 8 coriander seeds, 2 nectarine peels

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Holiday Ale Tweaks
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2016, 06:13:28 am »
Sorry no one has replied yet. I'm curious if you mashed the grains or just steeped them. Maris otter malt would need to be mashed. Anyway, the short answer is if you want it sweeter and not so high in alcohol, you need less simple sugars.

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Holiday Ale Tweaks
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2016, 07:10:58 am »