Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: DIY or prebuilt PID  (Read 1930 times)

Offline duelerx

• Cellarman
DIY or prebuilt PID
« on: January 07, 2017, 09:04:02 am »
I am planning upgrading my mash system doing step mashes with a RIMS tube (120v), i am not an electrician so i am looking for options for an already prebuilt pid controller or maybe ask for local help and build one for my self and save some money. Hope anyone can give me an advice on what is the best decision for my next investment, i have seen some interesting prebuilt controllers from auberins and brausupply, not sure if those are worth it with the price are sold. Cheers!

Offline BairsBrewing

• Assistant Brewer
DIY or prebuilt PID
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2017, 10:18:19 am »
I bought the equipment for mine from Amazon , used the Inkbird controller, and old alarm panel box, a relay, one outlet, two switches for the outlets, a couple of inline fuzes, and a small switch for the controller. I used YouTube to research the build for the controller box, there are a lot of good videos and some even provide links to the wiring build.  I bought the rims tube, temp well, and heating element from brewershardware.com.

Offline duelerx

• Cellarman
Re: DIY or prebuilt PID
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2017, 03:18:28 pm »
I bought the equipment for mine from Amazon , used the Inkbird controller, and old alarm panel box, a relay, one outlet, two switches for the outlets, a couple of inline fuzes, and a small switch for the controller. I used YouTube to research the build for the controller box, there are a lot of good videos and some even provide links to the wiring build.  I bought the rims tube, temp well, and heating element from brewershardware.com.

Seems like the best option, i am also buying my rims tube and heating element from brewershardware, best option so far.

Offline natebrews

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2017, 04:16:15 pm »