Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Selling hop rhizomes  (Read 4243 times)

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
Selling hop rhizomes
« on: January 09, 2017, 02:34:58 pm »
This summer will be my third summer of growing hops and I was wondering if anybody sold rhizomes they trimmed from their plants. I have three plants at the moment but I am giving my two Nugget plants to my neighbor who wanted to get into growing hops. I was just thinking that I could make a little money from the rhizomes seems how I am digging them up anyway. Being a broke college student I figured I need some way to pay for all my brewing supplies haha.
A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
Kegged/Bottled: N/A
Coming up:
SMaSH Rye Pale Ale
Chocolate Rye Stout
Milk Stout

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
Re: Selling hop rhizomes
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 03:00:30 pm »
You'd likely be okay selling them locally. 

I would think once you start crossing state lines you might get into some issues with permitting and licensure.  Exporting and interstate transport of living stock can be heavily regulated.

Just a SWAG  on my part.  I'm guessing others on the board know more than me about these things.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 03:20:06 pm »
My guess is that unless you do it large scale there isn't enough money there to be worth the work.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe