Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 2 vessel brewing - sparge questions  (Read 3218 times)

Offline golfgod04

• Brewer
    • My new Brewing Website - Totally Brewed Co
2 vessel brewing - sparge questions
« on: January 18, 2017, 02:57:01 pm »
So I am new to all grain and getting ready for my first all grain brew (5 gallon ipa batch).  However, I have a question about sparging.  I have a 8 gallon brew kettle and 52 quart cooler mash tun.  (no pump, ball valve with silicone hose)
1.) Heat 4 gallons of water to 163 so I can mash at 148 (I anticipate a 15 degree temperature loss)
2.) Transer 4 gallons of water to the cooler
3.) Add the grain to cooler
4.) Stir the mash to make sure no lumps/dough balls
5.) Once that is mixed, close the lid of the cooler for an hour
6.) While that it is happening, heat up 3 gallons of water to 170 degrees to use as sparge
7.) After an hour, open the ball valve a little bit and let the wort come out and use the hose to pour it over the top of the grain bed. Doing this for 5 minutes
8.) Then pour the 170 water over the grain bed
9.) Transfer from cooler back to kettle using the ball valve hose until I have 6 and a half gallons of wort in my brew kettle
10.) Proceed with boil as I'm used to.

After reading  a few things, I think my sparging technique is wrong. I have a quart pitcher Id be using for pouring the water onto the grain.  Should I just do no-sparge and use more water to start with? Any and all info would be appreciated.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: 2 vessel brewing - sparge questions
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 03:11:00 pm »
What you're proposing sounds like batch sparging.  You can read more about it here..www.dennybrew.com
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com