Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mash and Sparge Water Amounts?  (Read 7894 times)

Offline golfgod04

• Brewer
    • My new Brewing Website - Totally Brewed Co
Mash and Sparge Water Amounts?
« on: January 18, 2017, 06:39:36 pm »
Im new to all grain and am unsure of mash water. I keep reading different things What should I do for mash and sparge water amounts? My grain bill
6lbs 2-row
5lbs vienna
1lb crystal 15
1/2lb flaked wheat

beer smith says 4 gallons of water for mash. then 4.5 gallons for sparge.
Should I use 1.25 quarts of water per LB of grain? Then sparge is 1.5x that?  Do you change the amount of water based on beer style? 

Offline GS

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Mash and Sparge Water Amounts?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 07:09:08 pm »
I would do what beer smith says.  The creators of Beersmith went to a lot of trouble to build in the formulas. Formulae?

A water/grist ratio of 1.5 quarts to a pound of grain seems to be the norm. I've not used Beersmith, but I bet before you create a brew session or whatever it's called, you need to set the ratio. Then the software will calculate your volumes. Yours looks like it is set to 1.3qts per pound, which is fine.

The only time I have used a 1.25 quart water to 1 pun grain is if I am adding boiling water to raisen the mash temp from say, 131F to 152F. But that is very rare, for instance when I am brewing a wheat beer with 70% wheat malt.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Offline curtdogg

• Brewer
  • Learning everyday
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 07:16:19 pm »
Beersmith is a big calculator.
It has some presets but you should enter in your own info and eventually create your own profile.
First how big is your mash tun?
Can it support 1.5 quarts per pound?
With 12.5 lbs grain you'll need at least 6 gallons worth of space.

Sweet home of the Beer Lords.

Offline golfgod04

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 07:26:17 pm »