Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Can't get above 50% efficiency, what's going wrong?  (Read 4079 times)

Offline PDY

• 1st Kit
Can't get above 50% efficiency, what's going wrong?
« on: January 23, 2017, 10:19:01 am »
Hi guys,

AG newbie here. Any help much appreciated. So far my couple of batches I haven't been able to hit more than about 2% ABV due to very low OG and terrible efficiency (I think about 50%). Details below, where do you think it's going wrong?

Details:

I'm aware this is a rather 'rustic' setup! If it's simply a case of needing better equipment then good to know:
•Heated 1 1/2 quarts of water per lb of grain to 160F in a stock pot
•Added grain and stirred, temp got down to approx. 150F
•Put stock pot in a pre-heated (and turned off) oven, and left for 60 mins, checking temp every 15 mins, I was pretty confident I stayed between 148-160 (it got a bit hot at first but I stirred until cooler)
•Poured mash into large fine mesh colander over bucket
•Then slowly poured 170f water heated in separate pans over the top, trying to cover as much of the grain as possible
•This took about 15 mins before hitting 1 1/2 gallons pre-boil volume
•Cleaned out stock-pot, added colander on top and recirculated wort through grains
•Then brought to a rolling boil and followed hop schedule
•Then cooled in 20 mins to 75F in an ice bath
•Poured through fine mesh strainer into fermenter
•Was slightly below 1 gallon (probably due to large stock pot, big surface area) so topped up with water, but not much
•Pitched yeast etc

Was aiming for OG of 1.050 (it's an APA), and I've hit 1.035... which is obviously not great. Where is the most likely misstep? I'm thinking sparging, as the water got through so quickly...

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Can't get above 50% efficiency, what's going wrong?