Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Barrel Aging a Tripel- the memoirs  (Read 3101 times)

Offline sbalovich

• 1st Kit
  • Brewin' in Alaska
Barrel Aging a Tripel- the memoirs
« on: February 11, 2017, 05:46:48 pm »
First a little background, I've been homebrewing for 16 years and am a bit obsessive/compulsive with it.  SWMBO is also a beer lover and tolerates the obsession because I can usually come close to beers we encounter on our travels.  Aside from our two house beers on tap we like to have world styles rotating on our 6 taps.

About two years ago SWMBO came back from a biz trip in San Diego and said "I had this amazing beer and I took a photo of the menu because I want you to try to make it..."  Challenge accepted (as usual).  Okay time to research this baby... a Tripel that has been barrel aged and then blended back (Allagash Curieux).  Crap.  Not your average simple study the OG/FG, grain bill, yeast possibilities and water adjustment type of research.  This one requires oaking...

I've oaked one beer (chips soaked in bourbon) and it was so so.  Not my expertise.  So I sort of shelved it.  Flash forward to 2016 Xmas and I received a bottle of Pappy Van Winkle 12 year bourbon... AND a 5 gallon freshly emptied barrel from Port Chilkoot Distillery up in Haines, AK (http://www.portchilkootdistillery.com/)  The note on the barrel read... "Now will you make it?"

How could I not try!  I figured I'd post my progress here for others to suggest ideas and perhaps even follow.  My plan is to blend back something close to 50/50 after about a month in the barrel. 

Here's where I'm at... Brewed this:

OG = 1.085 (beersmith anticipated)
OG = 1.080 (actual, not sure what happened)
FG = 1.010 (estimated and actual)
ABV = 10.4% (anticipated)
ABV = 9.2% (actual)
IBU = 35.4 (adjusted to actuals)
SRM = 5.2

14 lbs Avangard German Pilsner Malt
3 lbs Briess Vienna malt
1 lb Flaked Barley