Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help! Master thesis about wild yeast  (Read 2298 times)

Offline christine87

• 1st Kit
Help! Master thesis about wild yeast
« on: February 08, 2017, 04:53:23 am »
Hi guys!

I'm writing a mastes thesis on wild yeast isolated from spontanious fermented cider (10 celsius or 20 celcius) and a plant called "kveke" in norwegian used in spontanious fermented beer on local farms for centuries.
I am also using two other yeast strains; WLP 6788 Norwegian Farmhouse Ale, and one I choose myself. I am then analyzing the differnces in the brew caused by the yeast. (Sensoric, aromatic compounds, ect.)

I am using the same wart in all the four brews, but I need help to find one that is likely to taste good- without  drowning the differences in taste originating from the different yeast strains. (So perhaps not a lot of hop-flavour).
I've thought about a type of blonde or saison, but I'm no expert..

I've gotten this suggestion from my professor:

Recipe: (malt, hops after choice):
3,5 kg pale-ale
0,2 kg light crystal
0,3 kg wheat malt

Any thoughts or ideas? :)

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
Re: Help! Master thesis about wild yeast
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 09:34:43 am »
It's a matter of what question you intend to answer in your thesis. If your goal is only to evaluate the yeast in a broad sense then the recipe below is fine. You'll want to add hops for bittering somewhere in the 10-20 IBU range.
Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline bayareabrewer

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2017, 09:51:28 am »