Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Glass Disaster  (Read 7078 times)

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: Glass Disaster
« Reply #45 on: January 10, 2017, 07:42:16 pm »
For you guys using something other than glass...can you still use a Fermwrap on them. Just wondering if either the heat or the electricity is a problem on plastic or stainless.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I use my Brew Belt on my fermentation kegs with no issue.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #46 on: January 10, 2017, 08:29:45 pm »
I have no desire to go back to glass carboys whatsoever. I'm just too much of a klutz :)

Perhaps it would be helpful to add that I've been using the same hydrometer for >100 batches since 1999.  ;)

You need to brew more, Dave!  :P
Frank

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #47 on: January 10, 2017, 08:37:21 pm »
I've always used plastic Better Bottles. It's what we started with. I use ferm wraps on them for just about every batch.

Though I have no issues with the Better Bottles, I won't be buying anymore. Buckets are easier. They store way better, easier to clean, protect from UV better, and have a built in handle for easy carrying.

My uncle brought home about 8 glass carboys one day. I refuse to use them. They are collecting dirt in the barn. I'd rather end up with a rare infected beer (though probably not dependent to plastic) than to break glass and chance slicing my wrists. With your experience, your choice should be very easy.

Frank

Offline lindak

• Cellarman
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2017, 05:01:36 pm »
Successfully used a fermwrap on better bottles, buckets, vantage plastic carboys and spiedel fermenters.  No issues, but sometimes it is a challenge to get them taped down on the uneven exteriors. 

Offline lizaambler

• Cellarman