Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help troubleshooting, 34/70  (Read 4052 times)

Offline 802Chris

• Assistant Brewer
Help troubleshooting, 34/70
« on: March 29, 2017, 06:13:08 am »
Hey guys, I am wondering if anyone can help me troubleshot my process here to see where I may have slipped up. To preface, this was my first lager batch. I have been brewing for 6 years, the last two being all grain. I have what I consider to be solid brewing practices and usually produce very fine ales (assuming I make good recipes...) I have had zero off flavors in any of my last 20 or so batches (going back about 2 years.) I would like like to outline my process below and see if anyone can catch what's up with this batch. I am going to go off my brew notes, so a pre thank you to all who take the time to read this, I might ramble....

Attempt: A light continental lager, brewed with ingredients that I had stocked on hand, using 34/70 dry lager yeast. Following the "fast lager" method outlined by Marshall Schott of Brulosophy.

Result: After kegging, clarifying and carbing I am picking up distinct levels of what I believe to be diacytl. The base beer smells good. upon initial sip, the beer is grainy, slightly sweet with a nice grassy earthy hop flavor. This initial sip is what I tasted upon testing gravity, a GOOD beer. no slippery sensation or empty mouthfeel. upon swallowing and specifically exhaling, I taste what I perceive to a be buttery or butterscotch notes, a very different sweetness than what I perceive as being derived from the malt. I KNOW I am panicking here, and I KNOW this is my first lager, I guess I'm just more disappointed than anything.

Notes:

5.25 gallon
ABV 4.02% est
OG 1.045 calc 1.042 meas
FG 1.012 measured
IBU 18.9 calc

60 minute boil
5 lb 4 oz continental 2 Row 1.8 lov
1 lb 12 oz Vienna
.9 oz Halertuaer 60 minutes
whirfloc @ 15
.5 oz hallertauer flameout

Single infusion mash @ 150 for 60 minutes