Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Green/Brownish Beer after 1 week of Fermentation  (Read 1490 times)

Offline Dwankmuller

• 1st Kit
Green/Brownish Beer after 1 week of Fermentation
« on: April 21, 2017, 05:52:11 am »
Hey Everyone.

I just started brewing a month or two ago, and this is my fourth batch of beer. After going to The Veil in Richmond, I had to try my own NEIPA recipe. So I whipped up a recipe using resources online and decided the split my batch into two in order to test out dry hopping at the very end of Krausen versus a more typical 7 day dry hop.

After two days of very active fermentation, I dry hopped one of the fermenters (right) and did nothing with the other. On day three when I woke up the beer that was not dry hopped (left) had settled nicely while the one on he right, (that was dryhopped during Krausen) is a murky green/brown color. After 7 days, the beer still looks murky, so I thought I'd post and see if anyone had any tips. My guess is the pellet hops dissolved in the Krausen and for whatever reason just haven't been able to settle. Unfortunately I am fermenting at a slightly higher temperature than recommended, I haven't been able to invest in a Keezer yet...

Stats:
Yeast: Wyeast London Ale III
OG: 1.058
Dryhopped 0.28oz of hop pellets @ Krausen

Anyone ever experienced this? I googled for a while and couldn't find anything. If the beer still looks like this in a week when I go to bottle, should I send it through some kind of filter? (Assuming this beer isn't ruined...)

I cant seem to get the image to upload...sooo: https://goo.gl/photos/jSzFLyD9W4fjS8FB9

Thanks!
Dave

Offline JJeffers09

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Green/Brownish Beer after 1 week of Fermentation
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 06:41:30 am »
Hop pellets rehydrated does that. I use a bag so I don't have as many issues siphoning over to the bottling bucket.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk