Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Light Lager Water Chemistry - Advice Desired  (Read 9127 times)

Offline DKensil

• 1st Kit
Light Lager Water Chemistry - Advice Desired
« on: April 26, 2017, 07:23:20 am »
Happy Wednesday All,

I am planning out a Light Lager recipe to brew soon and was looking a lot into the water chemistry as it is something I'm trying to learn more about. I'm still very new to this but I found the following post on another forum (homebrew talk) regarding the matter.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=198460#post2310230

"The following recommendations apply to “soft” water. Here we will define soft as meaning RO or distilled water or any water whose lab report indicates alkalinity less than 35 (ppm as CaCO3 – all other numbers to follow mg/L), sulfate less than 20 (as sulfate – Ward Labs reports as sulfur so multiply the SO4-S number by 3 to get as sulfate), chloride less than 20, sodium less than 20, calcium less than 20 and magnesium less than 20. If your water has numbers higher than these, dilute it with RO or DI water. A 1:1 dilution reduces each ion concentration to 1/2, a 2:1 dilution to 1/3 and so on. If your water contains chloramines add 1 campden tablet per 20 gallons (before any dilution)

Baseline: Add 1 tsp of calcium chloride dihydrate (what your LHBS sells) to each 5 gallons of water treated. Add 2% sauermalz to the grist.

Deviate from the baseline as follows:

For soft water beers (i.e Pils, Helles). Use half the baseline amount of calcium chloride and increase the sauermalz to 3%"

After seeing this my thought was to use distilled water and add the recommended calcium chloride and sour malt. Does this seem like an adequate way to start off with the light lagers? I've heard lots of people messing up gallons and gallons of beer by tweaking around with the water chemistry so i'm a little hesitant. I am open to any and all advice. Recipe is currently as follows: