Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Blonde Ale Gone Wrong  (Read 2884 times)

Offline newbrewer900999

• 1st Kit
Blonde Ale Gone Wrong
« on: May 04, 2017, 09:07:45 pm »
Hey all.  I started brewing a few months ago. I jumped straight to all grain and although I've been immersed in learning either hands on or through reading, I'm still at a point where I'm stumbling upon surprises quite often. In other words...if I sound half clueless, it's because I am  ;)

Anyway...I recently brewed a spiced blonde ale that utilized some flaked rice and carapils in the grain bill for mouthfeel and residual sweetness, and aged on cinnamon sticks and vanilla beans during secondary (about 4 weeks).

I racked to a keg after secondary, then ran it through a Blichmann Quickcarb for about an hour and poured myself a sample. The sample was pretty damn good. Spices, sweetness and malt flavors were well balanced and carbonation was good.

From there I took the keg and Co2 tank and put them in my chest freezer, which stays at about 38-40 degrees. The keg was never purged...stayed under the same pressure for the last 2 weeks.  I had planned to bottle it this weekend with a counter pressure filler, so I decided to pour a glass earlier and make sure it was still good. It comes out of the keg very foamy now, but the taste is what has me confused and disappointed. Once the foam settles down it tastes flat and slightly tangy, almost like a faint green apple flavor. I'm struggling to taste the spice and sweetness that were there just a couple weeks ago.

I'm stumped. What the hell happened to my beer?

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Blonde Ale Gone Wrong
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2017, 09:35:16 pm »