Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Mead  (Read 2372 times)

Offline Phil_M

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Southern Maryland
First Mead
« on: May 21, 2017, 06:27:10 pm »
So, I think I'm finally about to jump in.

The local Amish sell keep bees/sell honey, and I've been wanting to make mead from it for a while. As the title says, I've never done this before, so I'm trying to make sure all my ducks are in a row.

I know to use staggered nutrient additions, but I'm curious what others are using.

I'm not sure if I want to just do a straight mead, or add fruits. Strawberries and rhubarb are in season, and I'm wondering if they might work nicely in a mead...though perhaps I'll just stick to plain. Other than those two, there isn't much yet in season.

I don't plan to boil, is any heating required at all?
Corn is a fine adjunct in beer.

And don't buy stale beer.

Offline mikesharp1

• 1st Kit
Re: First Mead
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 06:43:51 pm »
I just made my first last night basically clean, clean, clean. I heated 1.25 in two batches to 110 degrees cooled poured into my fermentation bucket then added spring water while your brew is getting hot rehydrate your yeast. Yes use nutrient.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 08:49:51 pm »
I think a strawberry rhubarb mead sounds delicious. I don't boil or heat the honey up, except I put the honey container in warm water and try to get every bit of it out (usually more of a problem in winter months).
Dan Chisholm

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 06:23:39 am »