Author Topic: Control Panel Wiring  (Read 984 times)

Offline Mike-Ale

  • Cellarman
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Control Panel Wiring
« on: May 23, 2017, 02:41:32 AM »
Looking to put a 60 amp gfci in for a 50 amp control panel. What gauge wire should I run to my box. I was thinking of using 6/3?

Offline Wilbur

  • Brewer
  • ****
  • Posts: 417
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 02:46:59 AM »
http://www.cerrowire.com/ampacity-charts

I'd probably look at 4, but here's a manufacturers recommendation.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk


Offline weazletoe

  • Brewmaster General
  • *******
  • Posts: 2405
  • Howland, Ohio
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2017, 03:26:25 PM »
Depends on how long the run is. If you're not over 50' you can get by with 8ga just fine. Make sure it's copper, not aluminum. Also, consider using 8/4. That's how I did mine. That way you can have a 220v supply, and the extra wire will allow you to have a common do you pull 110v. Nice to have on your panel for running pumps, etc... Or add a built in charger your phone.   8)

A man works hard all week, so he doesn't have to wear pants all weekend.

Offline David

  • Cellarman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • West Valley City, UT
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2017, 06:20:51 PM »
Depends on how long the run is. If you're not over 50' you can get by with 8ga just fine. Make sure it's copper, not aluminum. Also, consider using 8/4. That's how I did mine. That way you can have a 220v supply, and the extra wire will allow you to have a common do you pull 110v. Nice to have on your panel for running pumps, etc... Or add a built in charger your phone.   8)



National Electric Code only allows 8 AWG wire to be loaded to 55 amps, wiring needs to be sized to the overcurrent protection, in this case 60 amps, so it should be a 6 AWG.

Offline weazletoe

  • Brewmaster General
  • *******
  • Posts: 2405
  • Howland, Ohio
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2017, 12:19:59 PM »
But a 60 amp circuit seems like a bit of an overkill.
A man works hard all week, so he doesn't have to wear pants all weekend.

Offline 69franx

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 3129
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2017, 06:05:33 PM »
Depends on how long the run is. If you're not over 50' you can get by with 8ga just fine. Make sure it's copper, not aluminum. Also, consider using 8/4. That's how I did mine. That way you can have a 220v supply, and the extra wire will allow you to have a common do you pull 110v. Nice to have on your panel for running pumps, etc... Or add a built in charger your phone.   8)


That charger is a nice add weaze

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

Frank L.
Fermenting:
Conditioning:
In keg: Märzen
In Bottles:  
In the works:

Offline Stevie

  • Official Poobah of No Life.
  • *
  • Posts: 6858
    • View Profile
Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2017, 06:15:42 PM »
I have this in mind on my future panel. Then I figured a gooseneck phone mount would be wise. After I thought of this, I figured i could add some Bluetooth speakers. That turned into a car head unit. Then a head unit with a large touch display. With a touch display I might as well add a raspberry pi in place of PIDs.

All because I thought it would be cool to charge my phone at the panel.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2017, 09:54:15 PM by Stevie »

Offline weazletoe

  • Brewmaster General
  • *******
  • Posts: 2405
  • Howland, Ohio
    • View Profile
Re: Control Panel Wiring
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2017, 09:44:02 PM »
It's amazing how these things escalate, isn't it? Too quote my wife "what happened to ' I'm just going to do small two gallon batches on the stove'?"
A man works hard all week, so he doesn't have to wear pants all weekend.