Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: OG way off. Help! How did I screw it up?  (Read 1855 times)

Offline Ferguson.michael@hotmail.

• 1st Kit
OG way off. Help! How did I screw it up?
« on: May 28, 2017, 04:04:27 pm »
Hi, i'm still new to All grain brewing. I'm trying to make an IPA with an OG of  1.070. I ended up with an OG of 1.045 instead. I have no idea why i'm so low. I used brewgr.com to calculate my mash/sparge water. Maybe I entered the values wrong? i don't know. Below is my recipe and the brewer.com calculations. If you more experienced brewers can go over my work and help me locate exactly where i screwed up I'd greatly appreciate it.

Here's the recipe:

Sierra Nevada Torpedo Extra IPA clone
(5 gallons/19 L, all-grain)
OG = 1.070 FG = 1.018 IBU = 70 SRM = 11 ABV = 7.2%

Ingredients
14 lbs. (6.4 kg) pale malt
11 oz. (0.31 kg) caramel malt (60 °L)
17 AAU Magnum hops (60 mins)(1.2 oz./34 g of 14% alpha acids)
1.0 oz (28 g) Magnum hops (5 mins)
1.0 oz. (28 g) Crystal hops (5 mins)
0.67 oz. (19 g) Magnum hops (dry hop)
0.67 oz. (19 g) Crystal hops (dry hop)
0.67 oz. (19 g) Citra hops (dry hop)
Wyeast 1056 (American Ale), White Labs WLP001 (California Ale) or Fermentis US-05 yeast
1 cup corn sugar (for priming)

Step by Step
Mash at 152 °F (67 °C). Boil for 90 minutes, adding hops at times indicated. Ferment at 68 °F (20 °C). Dry hop for 10 days to 2 weeks or use a torpedo to add hop character.

Here's the calculations I entered into the spreadsheet:

Grain weight: 14.11 lb
Grain temp: 72F
Total Boil Time: 90 minutes
Wort into Fermenter: 5 gallons
Target mash temperature: 152F
Mash thickness: 1.25 qt/lb

here's the calculated totals:

Runoff volume: 7.20 gallons
total water needed: 9.46 gallons
mash/strike volume: 4.66 gallons
1st runnings: 2.54 gallons
sparge volume: 4.80 gallons
strike temperature: 164.11