Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottling vs. kegging  (Read 4070 times)

Offline erindawn

• 1st Kit
Bottling vs. kegging
« on: May 29, 2017, 08:06:20 pm »
I'm relatively new to kegging. It seems such an obvious question to me but I've not seen this addressed anywhere so I figured I'd ask. In bottling you add sugar to each bottle to eventually carbonate the beer. With kegging, the carbonation is accomplished via CO2 from the tank. So do you add sugar when kegging, or not? If so, when? If not, doesn't that detract from the flavor and chemical composition of the beer? Thanks in advance!

Offline JJeffers09

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Bottling vs. kegging
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 08:11:17 pm »
No, not at all, and you sir are welcome! 😉

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk

"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin

AHA Member
Indiana Brewers Union (IBU)

Offline Philbrew

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2017, 08:39:14 pm »
I'm relatively new to kegging. It seems such an obvious question to me but I've not seen this addressed anywhere so I figured I'd ask. In bottling you add sugar to each bottle to eventually carbonate the beer. With kegging, the carbonation is accomplished via CO2 from the tank. So do you add sugar when kegging, or not? If so, when? If not, doesn't that detract from the flavor and chemical composition of the beer? Thanks in advance!
You don't need to, but you can.  Others will correct me if I've got this wrong, but I believe it's called "en cask". ??
Many of us would be on a strict liquid diet if it weren't for pretzels.

Offline mainebrewer

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2017, 03:27:40 am »
You don't need to add sugar to the keg if you are using CO2 to carbonate.
You can add sugar to the keg when you fill it with beer, then seal the keg, put it where it is warm and let it carbonate much like you would in a bottle.