Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Starting to think about water  (Read 2278 times)

Offline trapae

• Brewer
Starting to think about water
« on: May 27, 2017, 08:32:13 am »
 I've been brewing all grain for about seven years now and have obsessively tweaked all parts of my Brewing set up/process, all except one..........Water chemistry.
I use arrowhead Springwater and to my taste buds my beers of turn out good. But I think I'm ready to embark upon figure out water chemistry.  I've glanced at Bru'n water and it seems a bit complicated. Just wondering if anyone knows of a good primer source that is a good place to start?  ( something a little more manageable than Palmers 300 page book. )
Thanks
I am a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Starting to think about water
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 08:48:47 am »
Do a Google search for Brunwater walkthroughs.  Go to the Brunwater website and read the water knowledge page.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline flars

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 09:26:08 am »
You will also need a comprehensive water report of what is in the water you are using.  Once you have that Brunwater will seem less complicated.  Wards Laboratories has a water test just for brewers.

Offline denny

• Administrator
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2017, 09:31:20 am »