Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New member, go easy on me! I have questions.  (Read 8987 times)

Offline TacticalGarand44

• 1st Kit
New member, go easy on me! I have questions.
« on: June 05, 2017, 07:47:54 pm »
Hi folks, I'm new around here. As you can probably guess, I am new to brewing, but I am excited to get started in this hobby. I want to get started with an economical 5 gallon brew kit, and I have some questions regarding the Beer, Simply Beer kit from Midwest Suppliers. https://www.midwestsupplies.com/simply-beer-brewing-starter-kit This is the kit. Now the description states that the kit contains everything needed to produce beer except a large kettle, bottles, and caps. Can anyone tell me if there is a better, more complete kit out there? Or if this kit is missing anything I would want for the near future in my brewing career?

Also, which beer recipe among the options in that kit do you think would be the most forgiving to a newcomer?

Thank you!
God is great. Beer is good. People are crazy.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: New member, go easy on me! I have questions.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 07:58:18 pm »
Do you have a kettle? If not, I'd opt for this kit instead. https://www.midwestsupplies.com/platinum-pro-beer-brewing-starter-kit

Don't put too much stock into advice on equipment just yet. Go basic and inexpensive to see if you enjoy brewing first. After you've been bit by the bug, come back for advice on where to send all of your spending cash.

Offline TacticalGarand44

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2017, 08:18:14 pm »
Do you have a kettle? If not, I'd opt for this kit instead. https://www.midwestsupplies.com/platinum-pro-beer-brewing-starter-kit