Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wheat Wine - 100th batch!  (Read 2041 times)

Offline DockDogsBeer

• 1st Kit
    • Twitter: @DockDogsBeer
Wheat Wine - 100th batch!
« on: June 06, 2017, 10:23:39 am »
I have my 100th batch coming up in the next month or so and I wanted to do something I have never done before. Something strong that I will package and let age for an extended period, only drinking a few bottles every year. If all goes well, I am thinking about making it a tradition - brewing one big batch once a year, so that over time I will have a nice collection of beers from various years. I'm not much into imperial stouts - I enjoy them, just not enough to want to make one myself. I think I have settled on doing a Wheat Wine - it's something you don't see a lot of, and it sounds a little more like my type of beer.

Here is the recipe I have come up with - I have never done anything this strong, so please let me know if you see any potential issues:

Batch Size: 3 gallons
Target OG: 1.100
Target SG: 1.025 (hopefully lower from the sugar addition)
Target ABV: 9.8%
IBUs: 48

Grains:
5# - 2-Row
5# - White Wheat
3# - Cane Sugar
0.5# - Honey Malt
0.5# - Caracrystal Wheat Malt
0.25# - Acid Malt

Hops:
0.75oz - BRU-1 (FWH)
2.25oz - BRU-1 (Flameout)

Yeast:
I'm not sure what I want to use here, I figure I will pitch on top of the yeast cake of whatever I make prior to this (probably S-04 or US-05, or I'm even thinking WLP644)

I added the sugar because my mash tun will not hold any more grain and water and I am hoping it will help the beer finish lower. The BRU-1 hops are a newer variety; I just finished off a keg of wheat beer made with them this past weekend and they tasted great, citrusy with a clean bitterness.
"Pour yourself a drink or three and maybe we'll think clearly for awhile"
-The Fratellis

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Wheat Wine - 100th batch!