Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Filtration Systems  (Read 2946 times)

Offline hopaddicted

• Assistant Brewer
Filtration Systems
« on: July 20, 2010, 07:16:02 am »
I'm new to kegging and was surprised to find filtration systems pretty reasonable priced.

How many people utilize filtration in their brewing process? Are you happy with the results?

I have been impressed with the clarity gain of lagering, not that my ales were bad either (always use a secondary).

I don't expect much of a gain, but for the fairly modest cost and potential flexibility of the system (may double it as a hpback as well) it makes sense to add to the arsenal eventually.

Appreciate opinions.
Primary: Lambic
Secondary: Oktoberfest, German Pilsner, Double IPA,
In Bottles: Lucknow IPA clone, Rough Rider Brown Ale clone,
John Harvard Imperial Stout clone, Hoppy Amber, Witch's Brew (Habanero and Smoked Corn Small Ale), Porter, Dunkleweizen, Dry Stout, Irish Red Ale, American Maple Wheat Ale, Black Wit, Belgian style Wit, Belgian Golden Strong Ale
Kegged: IPA, Saison, Hoppy Brown Ale

narvin

Re: Filtration Systems
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 08:19:42 am »
Note that a hopback is designed to work with hot wort, and many filtration systems may not be rated for near-boiling wort.  You might be able to make a randall out of it, though.

Offline hopaddicted

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 02:47:48 pm »
Understood.
John Harvard Imperial Stout clone, Hoppy Amber, Witch's Brew (Habanero and Smoked Corn Small Ale), Porter, Dunkleweizen, Dry Stout, Irish Red Ale, American Maple Wheat Ale, Black Wit, Belgian style Wit, Belgian Golden Strong Ale

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis