Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pomegranate Pineapple Hefewiesen  (Read 3356 times)

Offline MrDonde

• Cellarman
  • Aspiring Brewmaster
    • Snow Lion Brewing
Pomegranate Pineapple Hefewiesen
« on: June 13, 2017, 06:23:19 pm »
Hello,
Buddy of mine is asking me to make a custom Hefe for him. He suggested pomegranate and pineapple for some unique flavor. My plan is to use a hefe recipe from the homebrew store and then add POM to the primary for a week. Then add pineapple soaked in vodka to the secondary for another week.

I was wondering what people think about the fruit choices and methods of adding them to the brew? I plan to bottle carbonate these so I was also worried about them being over carbonate, any tips?

Thanks for any help!
-Donde

Offline Lori_B

• 1st Kit
  • Oh no, what did i do now.
Re: Pomegranate Pineapple Hefewiesen
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2017, 06:11:31 am »
Newbie here, just learning. Can't say anything about the fruit choices, (though pomegranate wouldn't be my choice) but why bother soaking the pineapple in vodka?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2017, 07:34:49 am »
Newbie here, just learning. Can't say anything about the fruit choices, (though pomegranate wouldn't be my choice) but why bother soaking the pineapple in vodka?
I agree. Just grab some canned crushed pineapple in juice.

Offline pete b

• Barre, Ma
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2017, 08:14:08 am »
I'd do pomegranate molasses or high end grenadine and fresh ripe pineapple once the krausen dies down. Fermentation will start back up and the newly introduced sugars will fully ferment out obviating any worries about overcarbonating, assuming your method is to fully ferment and add priming sugar per a priming calculator.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer