Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Scorching Summer Drinker  (Read 2486 times)

Offline newbrew

• 1st Kit
Scorching Summer Drinker
« on: July 03, 2017, 12:26:46 pm »
Hello All! I am very new to brewing so my recipe repertoire is very limited and I was hoping you experienced guys could help me out. I am looking for an easy-drinking, clean, refreshing beer to brew for the scorching summers we get here in Eastern NC. I am thinking a witbier so my girlfriend, who isn't a fan of big hop-forward beers can enjoy. I realize I can pull many recipes from the vaults here and online but was hoping I could get someone to offer up a favorite of theirs.

FYI I only have a couple of batches under my belt and have always used LME and some specialty grains (partial mash? hope I'm using the right terms here), partial boil, and am limited to 5 gal recipes so if we could stick within those confines that would be perfect.

Thanks so much!

Offline JJeffers09

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Scorching Summer Drinker
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2017, 08:59:36 pm »
Newbrew, I would say you walk in to your LHBS or online retailer and grab yourself a kolsch kit.  The rest will work itself out.  As for the gf, well... if she wants a witbier, then grab a witbier kit too, more reasons to brew right?!?
"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Benjamin Franklin

AHA Member
Indiana Brewers Union (IBU)

Offline santoch

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Riverview, FL
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2017, 10:56:19 pm »
IMO, you really need to be able to mash in order to do a witbier right.  Those with the wheat dme but no unmalted wheat just don't turn out the same as one with the real deal.

I like the idea of a Kolsch too, if you can get the fermentation temps down to the low 60's and then have a chance to lager it in the 50's.