Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Phosphoric Acid amounts?  (Read 17616 times)

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
Re: Phosphoric Acid amounts?
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2012, 05:47:18 pm »
I recently saw a big jump in brewhouse efficiency by treating my sparge water in addition to my mash water, which was a snap using the new v1.12 of Bru'n Water, and involved a small addition of phosphoric acid in both water treatments.  We're talking about my guess of at least a 6 point efficiency increase in a 1.063 OG targeted beer with 5.5 pH mash and all other efficiency contributors accounted for.

Offline greatplainsbrewer

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2017, 08:57:43 am »
I realize this is an old thread but I have a few questions on this topic.  I have been using Bruunwater for several years and my beer is definitely better for it. My source water has 284 ppm bicarbonates so I've had to make significant adjustments to it.  I cut it with distilled water and often start with >50% distilled water.  I usually use CaCl, CaSo4, and lactic acid to adjust my water and really don't ever go above 1 ml/gallon of finished beer with the lactic acid for fear of an unwanted flavor contribution.  I recently picked up a bottle of 10% phosphoric acid at my HBS.  It is my understanding that phosphoric acid has no/limited flavors so that it could be used in greater quantities.  I realize that 10% is a fairly weak solution and would require more to be effective.  I just ran the numbers on a beer (2B) that I want to brew tomorrow (42% pils, 42% vienna, 14% corn, and 2% midnight wheat).  I used lactic acid to correct the mash.  I cut the sparge with 50% distilled water but still need to add 33ml of phosphoric acid to bring the sparge pH down to 5.5.  My question is whether this is a good idea- seems like a lot.
Thanks

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2017, 11:49:49 am »