Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Rehydrate or Not?  (Read 2888 times)

Offline AAdamski13

• 1st Kit
Rehydrate or Not?
« on: July 01, 2017, 06:43:58 pm »
That is the question.

This is my first time brewing. Everthying I've read says you should rehydrate the yeast, including the instructions on the back of the Lallemand Nottingham yeast package that came with the beer kit.

However the instructions with the Brewers Best kit I'm using specifically say "Sprinkle the contents of the yeast sachet on top of the entire wort surface (DO NOT REHYDRATE)"

So why would they say not to rehydrate?

My homebrew store says it doesn't really make a difference.

Thanks!
Andre
« Last Edit: July 01, 2017, 06:58:22 pm by AAdamski13 »

Big Monk

Re: Rehydrate or Not?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2017, 06:45:24 pm »
It doesn't add any extra time to the day or hurt so it's dealers choice. Although the argument can be made that you lose a certain percentage of the cells if you don't.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2017, 09:28:01 pm »
At the start of the day I throw a bit of water in the microwave with a syranwrap cover and let it boil. I leave it there until I am ready to rehydrate and pitch. Adds zero time and a teensy bit of effort.

Offline AAdamski13

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2017, 08:32:40 am »
Thanks guys, I haven't decided which I'm going to do, I may just sprinkle since (being my first time) I'm not sure how long it'll take to cool the wort to 70 deg.

Offline Stevie

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2017, 08:34:36 am »
What does that matter? Get you rehydration water sanitized, chill wort to temp, rehydrate, pitch. My results when I sprinkle are fine, but I believe in rehydration.

Offline dmtaylor

• Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2017, 08:43:11 am »