Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Golden Sour  (Read 7504 times)

Offline dasdubtech

• 1st Kit
Golden Sour
« on: July 09, 2017, 09:03:27 pm »
This is my first time posting here so hello! I do just a little brewing. Have one recipe I've used for 5 years I like a lot. Anyway to the point I tried a beer the other day from a local brewery and I have decided I want to give it a go at creating something like it. So here's what I have. It was a golden ale aged with blackberries and French oak. So I have spent some time today putting this together.

I found a Golden Ale recipe that sounds like it would work

OG. 1.049
FG.  1.006
IBU. 1-2. Shooting for 2 as the beer I tried was a 2
ABV. 5.25%

6lb 10oz Pilsner
1lb 2oz.  Wheat Malt
9oz.        Franco-Belges Aromatic malt
9oz.        Flaked oats
9oz.        Spelt malt
.125oz.    Strisselspalt hops @ 60min

Yeast WLP001 California Ale

So here's where I need some input. The beer I tried was 6.3 ABV. So I would need to bump that up a little. The biggest issue I have is getting into a secondary ferment with Brettanomyces. I've got the concept of how to add the black berries. I'm going to use French oak chips to get the oak aged flavor they had. Adding the Brett??? Do I make a starter and add this into the secondary when I rack it? Just need some advice on this as well as any critiquing. This will be a pretty big challenge to pull this off and I'm looking forward to it.

The beer I'm kinda trying to clone or let's say make something similar to gave a fair amount of info on the back of the bottle.

Golden Ale
Primary: Yeast Saccharomyces
Conditioning Yeast: Brettanomyces
ABV 6.3
Ph 3.5
IBU 2

They racked it to secondary and aged it for 12 months in a French oak barrel. Then bottled aged it after that.