Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: higher alcohols  (Read 1812 times)

Offline uisgue

• Assistant Brewer
higher alcohols
« on: August 06, 2017, 09:51:38 pm »
To start with, I have no background in organic chemistry.  I have always heard talk of higher alcohols and fusel alcohols.  I am assuming that that means there is a spectrum of alcohols beyond ethanol.  Some of these are said to be dangerous (or at least hang-over inducing). My question is: do these different alcohols have different psychotropic properties?  My latest batch is a disaster recovery project of unknown OG, FG or IBU. (Long story) It was fermented with a lager yeast at uncontrolled, but cool ale temperatures.  At first it tasted quite hot, but either has mellowed out or I have acclimated to it.  But...it seems that even with a small amount I seem to feel alcohol effects almost immediately.  However there is no particularly exaggerated hang-over. Any thoughts?
Doug Hickey
Crescent City, CA
Symposia Brew Corps

Offline Westley

• Cellarman
Re: higher alcohols
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 06:32:09 am »
To start with, I have no background in organic chemistry.  I have always heard talk of higher alcohols and fusel alcohols.  I am assuming that that means there is a spectrum of alcohols beyond ethanol.  Some of these are said to be dangerous (or at least hang-over inducing). My question is: do these different alcohols have different psychotropic properties?  My latest batch is a disaster recovery project of unknown OG, FG or IBU. (Long story) It was fermented with a lager yeast at uncontrolled, but cool ale temperatures.  At first it tasted quite hot, but either has mellowed out or I have acclimated to it.  But...it seems that even with a small amount I seem to feel alcohol effects almost immediately.  However there is no particularly exaggerated hang-over. Any thoughts?