Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: fusels in saison  (Read 3540 times)

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
fusels in saison
« on: August 08, 2017, 09:02:48 am »
I sampled a saison that is finishing up and it seems to have a high amount of fusel alcohols present. So much so that the small sample I tasted gave me a headache quickly. I have no experience with this in my beer.

The beer was brewed on 7/29 and fermented with one packet of Belle Saison starting at 68F for the first couple of days and then rising to about 71F where it has been sitting for days. I assume fermentation temperature is not the issue. OG was 1.052 and it is at 1.004 now.

Is this simply a case of the beer is young and needs some time? Will it dissipate with time?

I have not packaged yet but was planning to do so in a couple of days if the FG remains stable. I know a lot of people let their saisons go for some time to ensure that it doesn't continue to slowly drop but I have never felt the need to do that with this yeast. Any enlightenment would be appreciated.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: fusels in saison
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2017, 09:59:35 am »
Fusels will usually age out into esters.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Stevie

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2017, 10:26:47 am »
Yep, and can be worth the wait. Bottle it up and forget about it for 6 mos.

Fussels at 71° is a bit odd.