Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: cocoa nibs  (Read 5032 times)

Offline weazletoe

• Brewmaster General
  • Howland, Ohio
cocoa nibs
« on: June 12, 2017, 11:33:23 pm »
I've never used them before but want to in my Chocolate Starfish Porter. I plan on racking to secondary  Wednesday night. That will give it two and a half in primary. I will add the nibs to secondary. I assume they will eventually melt into the beer. But it seems to me that as it sits in secondary they will all drop out and be left behind. Is that how it goes, or will I still get a good flavor from them?
A man works hard all week, so he doesn't have to wear pants all weekend.

Offline DockDogsBeer

• 1st Kit
    • Twitter: @DockDogsBeer
Re: cocoa nibs
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 12:36:56 pm »
Cocoa Nibs roasted and cracked cocoa beans - they will not melt into the beer. They settle down to the bottom of the fermenter and are large enough that they won't get transferred when siphoning.

I have done them 2 different ways:
- Soak them in vodka/rum for a day to sanitize and then pour the whole thing into the fermenter and let sit for a few more days before packaging.
- Soak them in vodka/rum for a few days, them just pour the liquid in at kegging/bottling time.

Both ways seemed to work equally well. In the future I will probably keep doing the second option. 

I have also read about people sanitizing them by heating in the oven and then adding to the fermenter.
"Pour yourself a drink or three and maybe we'll think clearly for awhile"
-The Fratellis

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2017, 12:41:23 pm »
I have skipped the sanitizing portion and added them directly to the beer, four ounces in five gallons for roughly five days.
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990
AHA member since 1991, now a lifetime member
BJCP judge since 1995