Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pellet to wet hops conversion  (Read 14639 times)

Offline ppearson50

• 1st Kit
Pellet to wet hops conversion
« on: August 25, 2017, 08:59:37 am »
I am fairly new to bringing but have three mature hops plants in my backyard so I am going to try to wet hop an IPA. If my one gallon kit uses 16 grams of pellet hops. What is the conversion from dry pelleted hops to wet hops. I read somewhere six to one ration.

Offline ppearson50

• 1st Kit
Re: Pellet to wet hops conversion
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 09:04:34 am »
Oops. Brewing not bringing.

Offline stpug

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 09:12:06 am »
I've always used a 5:1 ratio of wet:dry, but 6:1 is close enough too.

Whole hops versus pellet should be factored in as well if you're talking about bittering.  I think pellet give an extra 10% bittering over whole.

Offline ppearson50

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 09:15:30 am »
Thanks for the reply. Does that five to one or six to one mean wet hops? I would take them right off the plant and put them in the boil.

Offline stpug

• Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2017, 09:29:57 am »
Yeah, fresh hops (right off the vine) would use this ratio.  For instance, if you normally use 1 oz of dried whole cone hops then you would sub with 5-6 oz of fresh whole cone hops.  If it's a bittering addition and you normally use pellet hops, then add an additional 10%.  If it's for aroma/flavor (i.e. late addition) then don't bother with the extra 10%.

Offline santoch

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Riverview, FL
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2017, 12:32:53 pm »