Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pilsner Mail for an IPA?  (Read 6280 times)

Offline Nick

• 1st Kit
Pilsner Mail for an IPA?
« on: September 06, 2017, 09:58:54 am »
Hey everyone,

new member here, but not really new to homebrewing.  I've been brewing for about 4 years now, now on all grain but have just recently moved onto building my own recipes.

A friend of mine who owns a bakery recently went to his grain supplier (who also supplies grains to some breweries in the PNW) and got about 10 lbs of Pilsner malt, and 10 lbs of white wheat malt.

I'm not a huge Hef fan, but figured I could at least use the Pilsner malt for something.  Can I use pilsner malt for an IPA?  I'm assuming I may need to add some other grains to build the body a bit, but wanted to see if anyone had some feedback on that.

Or if you have a suggestion on what to use both of those grains on, other than a Hef I'm totally open to suggestions.  Thanks!

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Pilsner Mail for an IPA?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 10:04:22 am »
Sure you can. Done it several times. I normally use Crystal 40 in AIPA, but a little Carahell mixed in is nice as well. Good luck!
Jon H.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 12:54:19 pm »
Pils malt with ~20% Vienna or Munch works well.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2017, 06:30:49 pm »
Contrarian view point: I would go 50/50 Pilsner and Wheat with gravity and hops like an IPA. If you don't like hefe's use an American Ale yeast; WLP001/1056/US-05.

:) I don't like to waste malt.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer