Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to kegging  (Read 2064 times)

Offline NickPurr

• 1st Kit
New to kegging
« on: September 10, 2017, 08:50:08 pm »
I recently purchased the KingKeg MK4 kegorator from my local homebrew shop and i am planning on kegging my next brew. i have never used a draft system before and wanted to know any tips or trick you guys and gals use. I am using the kingkeg gas regulator and a 5gal (19L) ball lock torpedo keg. Cheers.
The godly tongue distills honey, mankind's tether of amber and gold.

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: New to kegging
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 04:01:54 pm »
There's a whole lot of tips and tricks out there.

What angle are you looking for?  Filling?  Carbonating?  Dispensing?  Cleaning?

I'd start with researching how to purge your keg and do a closed transfer to fill it.  That way, you minimize O2 ingress. 

Beyond that, it's all pretty straightforward but there are also a million questions to ask.  Once it's up and running, you'll start to figure out what you need to ask and what you don't.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline NickPurr

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 04:25:16 pm »
Thanks. Ill start looking, I know there is a lot to know just wanted a good starting point.

Offline BrewBama

New to kegging
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2017, 04:57:38 pm »
The best info I've seen in one place on how to set a regulator, number of kegs a CO2 cylinder will dispense, temp and psi info, etc, etc: http://d163axztg8am2h.cloudfront.net/static/doc/71/66/acef50e52d6bf4b196b71a0bf233.pdf

This is the AHA guide: https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/attachments/0000/1312/Summerzym95-Kegging_How-To.pdf

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 05:25:38 pm by BrewBama »

Offline M-O-O-N That spells beer!

• Assistant Brewer
  • South Jersey