Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Adding fruit...  (Read 2333 times)

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
Adding fruit...
« on: September 25, 2017, 03:24:19 pm »
Gang:  I have been brewing since 1999 and I consider this one of the only hurdles I was never able to clear.  I posted about this on my main board and I'm bringing it here now.  I was visiting my daughter at Indiana over the weekend and she ordered a Lindeman's Framboise which I may have never tasted.  Of course it's delicious.  Now put that part out of your mind because I don't necessarily want to make Lindeman's Framboise but I do want to make a 4-5% ale with low hops and introduce fresh fruit or the juice of fresh fruit.  In the past I have done this and the secondary fermentation from the fruit dried the beer out too much.  I tried puree (same result) and extracts which just don't have the same flavor.  I have heard of people killing the yeast, adding lactose to offset the dryness, etc.  I have heard that for 5 gallons of beer you need a good 8-9 pounds of berries.  I would heat them to 140-150° for 20 minutes, maybe strain them... not sure.  But the question is balance.  How to keep the beer from being too tart/sour from the fruit.  Any experts out there on this?  Cheers.
Ken from Chicago. 
A day without beer is like... just kidding, I have no idea.

Offline brewsumore

• Brewmaster
  • Spokane, WA
Re: Adding fruit...
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 07:55:29 pm »
As you say, don't use juice unless maybe cold press juice - it dries out the beer too much.  My belief is that it's as simple as marrying up mash temp (for a bodied beer probably at least 156F), the yeast, and use puree or crushed fruit in secondary for fresh flavor, or in primary added after initial ferment ends.

But then I'm big on not overthinking it.