Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Soy sauce stout  (Read 5866 times)

Offline James K

• Brewer
  • Flagstaff, AZ
Re: Soy sauce stout
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2017, 10:55:59 am »
Soy sauce and kibble are big beer (High OG) oxidation flavors, homies.

I ran oxygen for about 30 seconds.
I am new to pure oxygen, typically I used to shake the carboy. I have also been nervous about using oxygen because I didn't want to eff up a beer, but I used the same amount of oxygen on a 10% wee heavy and the beer taste fine.

Typically how long should I oxygenate for if you think oxygen is part of the issue, I've read 30-60 seconds and plan to stick to thwith lower side of the timeline when I brew.
Vice President of Flagstaff Mountain-Top Mashers
2017 Homebrewer of the year
"One mouth doesn't taste the beer."

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2017, 11:29:46 am »
Soy Sauce flavor could be Autolysis.  Just because your house stays at those temps doesn't mean it's fermenting at those temps.  Fermentation creates heat.  Your dry yeast could have been a little on the old side too.

^^  This
  But at 13 days from pitch to rack?  Seems a bit quick to be autolysis... any number of issues may be combining here...

Agreed on both
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2017, 03:39:58 pm »