Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brew day.  (Read 4225 times)

Offline curtdogg

• Brewer
  • Learning everyday
Brew day.
« on: August 05, 2017, 12:05:58 pm »
I'll be brewing a pale ale today using my new robobrew with pump.
In my past Brews the grain bill has been 80% 2 row and 20% Munich 10.
This time around I want to have a little more body. So I'm thinking of mashing at 156 and or adding some diffrent malt to the grain bill.
At my LHBS I saw some caramunich and crystal wheat, I've never used either of those before.
I'm thinking of adding a little Crystal wheat to the existing grain bill or replacing the Munich 10 with Caramunich, or both 50/50.
Any thoughts? I appreciate everybody's feedback.

Thanks,
Curtis.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Sweet home of the Beer Lords.

Offline Nathan

• Cellarman
Re: Brew day.
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 12:19:09 pm »
The caramunich is great for adding body and head retention it is easy to over use and end up with too sweet of a beer especially with the high mash temp I would err on the side of caution, Make some tests teas with the malt so you have a better idea of your flavour profile . I have no experience with crystal wheat but have heard it's very important when brewing big 8 % Bavarian Wheat Ales

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 01:21:47 pm »
This time around I want to have a little more body. So I'm thinking of mashing at 156 and or adding some diffrent malt to the grain bill.
At my LHBS I saw some caramunich and crystal wheat, I've never used either of those before.
I'm thinking of adding a little Crystal wheat to the existing grain bill or replacing the Munich 10 with Caramunich, or both 50/50.

Thanks,
Curtis.