Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Allagash Confluence Ale  (Read 3998 times)

Offline Laminarman

• Assistant Brewer
Allagash Confluence Ale
« on: January 09, 2017, 02:40:43 pm »
I am a newbie, just bottled my first extract recipe now waiting for it to mature a few weeks before testing it.  Already thinking of my next batch and I'd like to try steeping some grains.  I am in love with Allagash Confluence which I believe is considered a Belgian Pale Ale.  I can't seem to find a clone recipe anywhere and not sure if I can make something in this style with the equipment I have.  There are SOOOOOO many full grain recipes to choose from though in this style (I'm going to get pulled in aren't I???).  Any help or recipe links are appreciated if anyone has had this beer.  I love those biscuit and toasty notes and it says it has brett if that helps at all.

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: Allagash Confluence Ale
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 03:39:42 pm »
You might want to get some brewing experience under your belt before trying a mixed fermentation beer. Also some reading up on the subject. Here's a link to an article that discusses Mixed fermentation using Brett specifically.

http://www.themadfermentationist.com/2008/06/all-about-brettanomyces.html

It should give you an idea of what sort of process and time frame you're looking at for this style. Good luck and have fun as the hobby reels you in.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline Laminarman

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 05:44:15 pm »
Thanks for the link Bob.  Maybe I'll just stick to a regular old pale ale for a bit : ( 

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2017, 06:10:21 pm »
Thanks for the link Bob.  Maybe I'll just stick to a regular old pale ale for a bit : (