Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water treatment  (Read 3000 times)

Offline daman

• 1st Kit
Water treatment
« on: November 16, 2017, 09:21:52 am »
Hello guys,

I was looking for the answer in this forum, because I thought it should be covered, so sorry if it is but I couldnt find it and this new topic is a duplicate.

The question which bothers me is how I should calculate my salt additions. I know the method of calculating particular salt addition, but the question is should I divide it by proportion for mash water and sparge water?

For example, I know that for my 20 l brew I need 30 l of water and to put 10 g of gypsum into the water, how should I do it if I am using grainfather and i am firstly pouring 19 l for mashing and after 11 addition for sparging?

Should I put 10g into the mashing water or divide it for mash and sparge water by proportion?

As you can probably see, I have never done water treatment before, so quite of trying to get the idea how to do it :) Maybe someone has some good references for this topic?

Offline Phil_M

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Southern Maryland
Re: Water treatment
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 10:49:35 am »
A member on here, mabrungard, is a water expert and has created a spreadsheet, Bru'n Water, that many on here use. It's a great simple tool that does exactly what you're looking for, and also does a good job of explaining what's going on under the hood.
Corn is a fine adjunct in beer.

And don't buy stale beer.

Offline stpug

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 11:40:38 am »
A member on here, mabrungard, is a water expert and has created a spreadsheet, Bru'n Water, that many on here use. It's a great simple tool that does exactly what you're looking for, and also does a good job of explaining what's going on under the hood.

The website for the info quoted above resides here:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Offline narcout

• Brewmaster General