Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Sterling hops  (Read 1288 times)

Offline William

• 1st Kit
Sterling hops
« on: January 05, 2018, 08:14:51 pm »
Planning on brewing with Sterling hops for split fermentation batch of beer. One with lager yeast the other with saison. I've never used sterling before. Going to bitter with magnum @60 (probably 0.5 oz) and was thinking a 15 (0.5oz) and 5 (1oz) minute additions with sterling. Shooting for between 25-30 IBU's. Using only vienna malt.

Any thoughts on how prominent the sterling flavor/aroma will be?

Would a 1 oz dry hop for each batch be too much?

I definitely want to take taste the hops but don't want them to be over powering. 

Offline Robert

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Sterling hops
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2018, 08:33:52 pm »
I've done beers with a hop schedule much like yours and found the hop character VERY delicate.  IME Sterling is subtle and mellow, as befits a "noble" clone, but not nearly as herbal as European Saaz-type hops. [FWIW if I did your amounts --  and I use Magnum a lot too --  don't think I'd hit 25-30.  But you know your system.]  Of course YMMV.
Rob Stein
Akron, Ohio

I'd rather have questions I can't answer than answers I can't question.

Offline William

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2018, 06:37:18 am »
Thanks for the info Rob. Any thoughts on dry hopping? Think it would be worth it or don't bother with this variety?

Offline Robert

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2018, 06:53:43 am »
Thanks for the info Rob. Any thoughts on dry hopping? Think it would be worth it or don't bother with this variety?