Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to brewing cider and looking for advice  (Read 3585 times)

Offline Dsurion

• 1st Kit
New to brewing cider and looking for advice
« on: December 13, 2017, 09:10:17 pm »
I am new to brewing, I started brewing ciders about eight months ago. I have not made a batch I really like yet and I'm trying to see what I might be doing wrong. I have read several websites and forums and it seems everyone's methods are a little different and some contradict each other, or just don't explain some of the small but important details.

I started making one gallon batches with organic apple juice from Earthfare, comes in a one galling glass jug so no need to buy a carboy. I have have made about 10 one galling batches. I have been adjusting my method along the way and it has gotten better, but not great. I have two five gallon batches from a local orchard currently in secondary. I will explain what I have done so far and what I plan to do and see if anyone has any advice what might be wrong.

On 11/14, a local orchard filed my sanitized plastic carboys (I use PBW to clean and Star San to sanitize) with unpasteurized, no preservative, cider from their press. (Plastic carboys is what I had and the guy in the local brew store said he has never gotten an off taste from them.) For future batches I will probably use a bucket for primary. Both batches had a SG of 1.054. I decided not to add any additional sugars, such as brown sugar like I had in the past, since it was already a relatively high SG. I added 5 tsp of yeast nutrient in each batch and in one a packet of Lalvin EC-1118 and the other a packet of Lalvin 71B-1122. (Previous batches I had used Nottingham or S-23 but decided to change it to wine yeast based on other's suggestions. I have read arguments for using either beer or wine yeasts.) I put an airlock on top and put them in a basement closet that had temperatures from 65-69.