Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Roasted Barley dilema  (Read 1438 times)

Offline soymateofeo

• Assistant Brewer
  • El Mas Chingon
Roasted Barley dilema
« on: December 25, 2017, 09:23:38 am »
I've been brewing for over 15 years but have yet to make a stout. So I took my grain bucket down to the homebrew shop with a buddy and he gives me the following recipe:
7 lbs 2 row
2 lbs munich
.5 lbs chocolate
.25 lbs crystal 120
1 lb roasted barley (595 lov)
.25 lbs of special B.

What are your comments on the roasted barley?
Here are my concerns.
 I didn't realize that the roast was so dark. I've only used around 325 lov roasted barley and am concerned that this will come out super acrid and over smoked. 8.7% roasted barley seems ok but is it ok with 595 lov roasted barley?  But then I cruised a couple of recipes in the AHA winner list and people are using 1 lb of roasted barley in 5 gallons but don't list the lov.  I'm thinking I could either:
1. split the batch in half so I have .5 lbs of roasted barley and then just add more of each of the other grains.
2. add a coiuple more lbs of 2 row.
3. brew it as it is (which I don't want 5 gallons of beer I don't like)
4. something else.

Input por favor.

Offline mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
Re: Roasted Barley dilema
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2017, 10:09:54 am »