Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Over carbonated?  (Read 1040 times)

Offline messary7

• 1st Kit
Over carbonated?
« on: January 21, 2018, 10:23:42 am »
Hello all. Forgive the simplicity of the question as I am BRAND NEW to home brewing. I recently completed my first batch, an "all-in-one" kit given to me by my wife as a Christmas gift. I followed the directions to the letter and when I went to open the first bottle you would have thought I cracked a bottle of champagne....bubbles EVERYWHERE. And they kept coming. I let the bottle sit for a short while before pouring beer into a glass and even then the beer seemed to have a resurgence of energy. Liquid took up only 1/4 of the glass, the head the rest. So......anyone have any insight as to how the beer became over carbonated? Thank you advance!
Marc

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Over carbonated?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 10:27:21 am »
Generally, there are 2 causes of what you describe.  Both relate to continued fermentation in the bottle beyond what would be normal for carbonation.  One possible cause is contamination.  How does the beer taste?  It if tastes OK, this probably isn't it.  The other common cause is bottling to soon before fermentation is complete.  Did youuse a hydrometer to check the beginning and ending gravity of the beer to make sure it was dine before bottling?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline messary7

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 10:37:02 am »